Content - 25 years of international SPARC research

Paris - Toronto - Zurich: 25 years of international SPARC research

Anniversary celebration on 1 December 2017 at ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Founded in 1992 largely in response to concerns about the consequences of stratospheric ozone depletion, the World Climate Research Programme’s core project SPARC has evolved into a major international research coordination hub for atmospheric sciences. Over the years, SPARC’s focus has expanded to go well beyond just the stratosphere and to look at coupling between the troposphere-stratosphere system and impacts closer to the surface. The primary goal, however, has remained the same: to facilitate cutting-edge research to improve our understanding and prediction of atmospheric processes. Counting over 3000 active researchers from around the world, over the past 25 years the SPARC community has become an internationally recognised and lively scientific community. Research is carried out through a wide range of activities focused on societally-relevant questions. Over the past two and a half decades, eight comprehensive SPARC Science Reports as well numerous well-cited scientific papers and newsletters have been published. SPARC’s renowned expertise in data handling and modelling have contributed significantly to international assessments, such as the WMO/UNEP assessments of ozone depletion and the IPCC climate assessments.

SPARC’s success would never have been possible without the long-term commitment and support of the World Climate Research Programme and WMO, as well as the numerous SPARC Office hosts and sponsors, including the most recent SPARC Office sponsors in Switzerland: ETH Zurich, the Federal Office of Meteorology and Climatology (MeteoSwiss) and the Federal Office for the Environment (BAFU).

On 1 December 2017, SPARC celebrated its 25th anniversary and, after six years of operation in Zurich, the move of its international project office from ETH Zurich to the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Oberpfaffenhofen - its fourth destination after Paris, Toronto and Zurich.


The SPARC Project Office in Switzerland (session chair: Thomas Peter)
14:00-14:10   ETH ZurichDetlef Günther
14:10-14:20WCRP/WMODeon Terblanche
14:20-14:30MeteoSwissBertrand Calpini
14:30-14:40BAFUJosé Romero
25 years of SPARC (session chair: Fiona Tummon)
14:40-15:0025 years of SPARC scienceThomas Peter, Johannes Staehelin
15:00-15:30SPARC contributions to the O3 assessmentStefan Reimann
15:30-16:00SPARC contributions to IPCCThomas Stocker
Coffee break
The future of SPARC (session chair: Johannes Staehelin)
16:30-16:50Future directions of SPARC scienceNeil Harris
16:50-17:10Interesting new SPARC science - chemistryWilliam Ball
17:10-17:30Interesting new SPARC science - dynamicsHella Garny
17:30-17:45SPARC Office at the German Aerospace CenterMarkus Rapp
17:45-18:00Thanks!Fiona Tummon
Apéro riche

Organising committee

Thomas Peter
Johannes Staehelin
Carolin Arndt
Fiona Tummon
Petra Bratfisch -

Photo Gallery

SPARC celebrates its 25th anniversary at the Semper Aula of the ETH Zurich.

Sponsors and supporters of the SPARC Office in Zurich

Group photo of current and future SPARC Office staff and their supporters and sponsors.

Group photo of the SPARC Office team at ETH Zurich, members of the Institute for Atmospheric and Climate Science Prof. Dr. Thomas Peter and Prof. Dr. Johannes Staehelin, and SPARC Co-chair Prof. Dr. Neil Harris, Cranfield University, UK.

Future SPARC Office staff at Oberpfaffenhofen, DLR institute members Prof. Dr. Markus Rapp and Prof. Dr. Martin Dameris and SPARC Co-chair Prof. Dr. Neil Harris from Cranfield University, UK.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Peter, former SPARC Co-chair, ETH Zurich, and Dr. Fiona Tummon, former SPARC Office director, now at the University of Tromso.

Prof. Dr. Detlef Günther, ETH Zurich.

Dr. Deon Terblanche, WMO.

Prof. Dr. Bertrand Calpini, Federal Office of Meteorology and Climatology Meteoswiss.

Dr. José Romero, Federal Office for the Environment FOEN.

Some 60 scientists celebrated the 25th anniversary of SPARC.

Dr. Lamont Poole, NASA Langley Research Center.

Dr. Hans Volkert, new Director of the SPARC Office at DLR.

Prof. Dr. Markus Rapp, Direktor DLR-Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre.

Dr. Hella Garny, DLR.

Dr. William Ball, ETH Zurich.

Prof. Dr. Neil Harris, SPARC Co-Chair, Cranfield University, UK

Prof. Dr. Thomas Stocker, University of Berne, during his presentation.

Prof. Dr. Thomas Stocker, University of Berne.

Dr. Stefan Reimann, Empa, ETH Zurich.

Prof. Dr. Johannes Staehelin, ETH Zurich.