SPARC leadership

SPARC leadership is composed of experts from around the world who dedicate their time to SPARC’s international activities. These include the SPARC Scientific Steering Group (SSG), who serve to guide SPARC’s scientific focus, targeted activities and their leaders, the WCRP Joint Science Committee liaisons, and WCRP Secretariat officer, as well as the the International Project Office.

Current members of the SPARC Scientific Steering Group (SSG) are:


Neil Harris (UK): Cranfield University
Seok-Woo Son (Republic of Korea): Seoul National University

Members (2021)

Gufran Beig (India): Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology
Andrea Carril (Argentina): Center for Atmosphere and Ocean Research (CIMA/CONICET-UBA), Ciudad Universitaria
Wen Chen (China): Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Chinese Academy of Science
Nili Harnik (Israel): Tel Aviv University
Harry Hendon (Australia): Bureau of Meteorology
Takeshi Horinouchi (Japan): Hokkaido University
Nathaniel Livesey (USA): NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Michael Prather (USA): Department of Earth System Science University of California
Karen Rosenlof (USA): National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA);
Earth Systems Research Laboratory (ESRL)
Hauke Schmidt (Germany): Max Planck Institute for Meteorology
Viktoria Sofieva (Finland): Finnish Meteorological Institute
Donald Wuebbles (USA): University of Illinois
Tianjun Zhou (China): LASG, Institute of Atmospheric Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Contact at WCRP Joint Planning Staff

Michael Sparrow (WMO)

Activity Leaders

For a full list of activity leaders see the Activities pages.